Accessibility options:




Courses

It’s now really easy to book our courses online.

You will be redirected to our Shopify store where you can read more about each course, look at images, book and pay for your course. Click your ‘back’ button to return to the course listings.

All of our courses are suitable for complete beginners, new learners and those looking to refresh skills unless otherwise stated.

In addition to our course programme below, we regularly host artist talks in the studio and we are happy to arrange bespoke workshops, talks and demonstrations.

Before booking, please read our course booking information.

Courses running at

Print courses currently running

ImageCourse

Print Club: Letterpress

Tuesday 23rd October until Tuesday 27th November 11am - 1pm

Print Club is an opportunity to gain confidence and build printmaking skills as part of a small group in a technician led series of sessions.

NEW Intermediate Follow On Print Evening Course

Thursday 25th October until Thursday 29th November 6pm - 9pm

This NEW follow on course is perfect for those who have completed Intro to Print and for those with previous printmaking experience to develop their skills further.

NEW Intermediate Follow On Print Morning Course

Thursday 25th October until Thursday 29th November 10.30am - 1.30pm

This NEW follow on course is perfect for those who have completed Intro to Print and for those with previous printmaking experience to develop their skills further.

Print courses starting in November 2018

ImageCourse

Reduction Linocut Weekend

Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th November 10am - 4pm

This introductory course is suitable for beginners as week as well as those experienced in linocut.

Print courses starting in December 2018

ImageCourse

Monoprint with Letterpress Day

Saturday 1st December 10am - 4pm

This day course is designed to allow experimentation and to build confidence with letterpress.

OFFSITE COURSE: Painterly Monoprints

Sunday 2nd December 10am - 4pm

Explore monoprinting and create one off, expressive prints.

Solar Plate Day

Saturday 8th December 10am - 4pm

A day course introducing this photo-etching process that uses photopolymer plates that are developed in water.

Print courses starting in January 2019

ImageCourse

Winter Warmer Tech Surgeries for LPW Members

Tuesday 15th January until Saturday 19th January 10am - 4pm

Spend time with a member of the tech team looking at your work and either get hands on to solve technical problems or talk about developing your ideas and direction.

Collage with Textile Dyes Taster

Saturday 26th January 10am - 1pm

A day working with disperse dyes to create a beautiful array of textile work using monoprint techniques.

Large Scale Linocut Day

Sunday 27th January 10am - 4pm

A wonderful opportunity to work at large scale and really challenge yourself with this sensitive and responsive technique.

Print courses starting in February 2019

ImageCourse

Introduction to Textile Screenprinting

Saturday 9th February 10am - 4pm

Learn to expose your own images, print on fabric and experiment with layers.

Letterpress Taster

Sunday 10th February 10am - 1pm

Learn how to set, ink and print type in this morning taster course.

Introduction to Linocut

Saturday 16th February 10am - 4pm

A great introduction to the art of linocutting.

Photo Lithography Day

Sunday 17th February 10am - 4pm

Learn how to make a photoplate lithograph which can express subtle tones using photography and / or drawing.

Arts Award: Discover in a Day

Friday 22nd February 10am - 4pm

Leicester Print Workshop is proud to support Arts Award, inspiring young people to grow their arts and leadership talents.

Introduction to Screenprinting Day

Saturday 23rd February 10am - 4pm

This one day course introduces the basic principles of screenprinting onto paper.

Print Club: Relief

Tuesday 26th February until Tuesday 2nd April 11am - 1pm

Print Club is an opportunity to gain confidence and build printmaking skills as part of a small group in a technician led series of sessions.

Print courses starting in March 2019

ImageCourse

Monoprinting on Clay

Saturday 2nd March 10am - 4pm

This workshop will involve layering marks made with coloured slips directly onto clay slabs and using monoprinting techniques.

Offsite Course: Deconstructed Drypoint

Sunday 3rd March 10am - 4pm

Inspired by the architecture and design of the Bauhaus movement, you will learn to use drypoint to create shape, line, form and structure in a composition.

NEW Introduction to Print Six Week Morning Course

Thursday 7th March until Thursday 11th April 10.30am - 1.30pm

A fantastic way to explore a huge variety of printmaking techniques and get a good idea of what suits you.

Etching Day

Saturday 9th March 10am - 4pm

Designed for beginners or those with some experience, this course will introduce you to etching using zinc plates.

Lithography Two Day Course

Saturday 16th March 10am - 4pm

This course is a taster introduction to the basics of stone lithography.

Kamihanga Taster

Sunday 17th March 10am - 1pm

Kami (Japanese word for ‘paper’) Hanga (‘print’) is a simple relief technique, similar to collagraph.

Lithography Two Day Course

Saturday 23rd March 10am - 4pm

This course is a taster introduction to the basics of stone lithography.

The Grid as a Mode of Depiction

Sunday 24th March 10am - 4pm

On this day course you will learn the ways to translate ‘image’ to a letterpress forme and print it using Letterpress borders.

Contemplating Design: Colour and Composition

Saturday 30th March 10am - 4pm

An inspiring day looking specifically at producing a 2 layered screen printed textiles design.

Print courses starting in April 2019

ImageCourse

Painterly Lino with Caustic Soda

Sunday 7th April 10am - 4pm

Develop your linocutting skills by experimenting with caustic soda to ‘etch’ into the surface of the plate.

Storing and Preserving Prints

Wednesday 10th April 6pm - 8pm

Our Professional Development courses continues a look at storing and preserving prints.

Paper Folding, Boxes and Packaging Taster

Saturday 13th April 10am - 1pm

The course will introduce the art of paper folding using recycled papers to explore a variety of decorative packaging.

Gum Arabic Transfer Day

Sunday 14th April 10am - 4pm

Gum Arabic transfer is also known as “paper lithography” and uses laser photocopies as a starting point to create prints.

Textile Screen, Heatpress & Dyes Weekend

Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st April 10am - 4pm

A weekend looking at using disperse dyes to explore beautiful, fluid mark making on fabric.

Print Club: Intaglio

Tuesday 23rd April until Tuesday 28th May 11am - 1pm

Print Club is an opportunity to gain confidence and build printmaking skills as part of a small group in a technician led series of sessions.

Print courses starting in May 2019

ImageCourse

Photo Etching Weekend

Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th May 10am - 4pm

A weekend spent learning how to transform your hand drawn or photographic images into etched plates.

NEW Intermediate Follow On Print Morning Course

Thursday 9th May until Wednesday 13th June 10.30am - 1.30pm

This NEW follow on course is perfect for those who have completed Intro to Print and for those with previous printmaking experience to develop their skills further.

OFFSITE COURSE: Stencil Monoprints at Lakeside Arts

Sunday 12th May 10am - 4pm

Using stencil monoprint to create, overlapping colour mixing abstract forms inspired by the Bauhaus exhibition.

Letterpress Taster

Sunday 12th May 10am - 1pm

A half-day session to give you a taste for letterpress.

Editioning Prints

Wednesday 15th May 6pm - 8pm

Our Professional Development courses continues with this artist led discussion covering many issues around the process of editioning your prints.

Experimental Photo Screenprinting Weekend

Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th May 10am - 4pm

Develop your screen printing skills and experiment with composition.

Overlay, Turn, Conceal and Reveal

Saturday 25th May 10am - 4pm

An experimental day exploring abstract form, texture and pattern.

Arts Award: Discover in a Day

Friday 31st May 10am - 4pm

Leicester Print Workshop is proud to support Arts Award, inspiring young people to grow their arts and leadership talents.

Print courses starting in July 2019

ImageCourse

Small Book Forms Day

Sunday 28th July 10am - 4pm

Learn various book formats for your future artist’s book project.