Accessibility options:




Courses & Talks

In addition to our course programme below, we regularly host artist talks in the studio and we are happy to arrange bespoke workshops, talks and demonstrations.

Before booking, please read our course booking information.

Courses running at

Print courses starting in April 2014

ImageCourse

ARTIST TALK: Kathryn Desforges

Friday 25th April 6.00pm - 8.00pm

Join our 2013 Postgraduate Lithography intern for an evening talk

Photoplate Lithography

Saturday 26th April 10.00am - 4.00pm

An alternative to stone lithography, this quick process enables hand drawn, photographic or digital film positives to be transferred onto lithographic plate and printed on an etching press.

Linocut

Sunday 27th April 10.00am - 4.00pm

Discover the versatility of this popular relief print technique. Extra dates added on Sunday 27th April and Saturday 31st May due to popular demand!

Print courses starting in May 2014

ImageCourse

Introduction to Etching

Thursday 1st May until Thursday 22nd May 6.00pm - 9.00pm

This four week evening course will introduce you to the wonderful technique of etching.

One day Intro to Screenprinting

Monday 12th May 10.00am – 5.00pm

This one day intensive day course will introduce you to this popular technique.

Twilight Session: Printmaking introduction and refresher for educators

Tuesday 13th May 6.00pm - 9.00pm

To complement our workshops in schools we offer art teachers and technicians a termly 3 hour session providing an opportunity to learn new skills or revisit old ones in a sociable environment.

PRINT RUN talks: Is this a print?

Wednesday 14th May 6.00pm - 8.00pm

Is this a print? Is this an edition? How should I frame this? How can I exhibit this? In the first of our PRINT RUN series of talks, artists Sarah Kirby and Serena Smith discuss the professional practice of printmaking.

Life Drawing and Waterless Lithography

Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th May 10.00am - 4.00pm

Drawing directly from the (male) model onto printable lithographic plates you will explore mark making and composition.

Letterpress & Little Books - Bank Holiday Extra

Saturday 24th May until Monday 26th May 10.00am - 4.00pm

This three day bank holiday course will introduce you to the wonderful technique of letterpress.

Linocut

Saturday 31st May 10.00am - 4.00pm

Discover the versatility of this popular relief print technique. Extra dates added on Sunday 27th April and Saturday 31st May due to popular demand!

Print courses starting in June 2014

ImageCourse

Monoprinting

Sunday 1st June 10.00am - 4.00pm

Experiment with monoprinting on this day course and create vibrant, one off prints.

Introduction to Print

Thursday 5th June until Thursday 10th July 6.00pm - 9.00pm

This popular evening course provides a solid foundation for printmaking learning.

Collagraph - structure, shape and line at Lakeside Arts Centre

Sunday 8th June 10.00am - 4.00pm

Using the Perminder Kaur exhibition at Lakeside Arts Centre as your starting point, create rich, tonal collagraph plates.

Textile screenprinting

Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th June 10.00am - 4.00pm

Spend a weekend with our former textile resident Zoe Potter learning the basics of textile screenprinting.

Full Colour Screenprinting (CMYK)

Saturday 21st June 10.00am – 5.00pm

During this day course you will learn how to produce full colour photographic screenprints onto paper.

Block Printed Lampshades

Sunday 22nd June 10.00am – 5.00pm

During this one day course you will learn how to block print onto fabric and create your own beautiful, hand printed lampshade.

One day Intro to Screenprinting

Monday 23rd June 10.00am – 5.00pm

This one day intensive day course will introduce you to this popular technique.

Introduction to Screenprint

Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th June 10.00am - 4.00pm

A two day course for those that want to learn screen printing onto paper.

Print courses starting in July 2014

ImageCourse

Japanese Woodblock Printing

Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th July 10.00am - 4.30pm

Japanese woodblock, or mokuhanga, is a printmaking technique that has a variety of beautiful effects, ranging from delicate washes of transparency, to bold vibrant colours.

Print courses starting in October 2014

ImageCourse

The Big Draw at Embrace Arts

Saturday 25th October 10.30am - 12.30pm & 1.30pm - 3.30pm

Printmaking for everyone – sign up for a quick and easy printmaking session to celebrate the Big Draw.